Carrots

Flickr = Updated

For those who are interested, my Flickr account has been updated with photos from my trip to the Middle East.  Unfortunately it only allowed me to upload 100 megabytes worth of images, or 84 pictures.  More in December!

New Grocery Store in St. Joe!

According to the sign outside of the brand new Coborn’s grocery store in St. Joe, they were supposed to open today.  I have been counting down this day for a few months now and excitedly walked in and started checking out the fresh produce area.  Happiness.

As I was bagging up some deliciously red tomatoes, a man walks up and asks what I am doing – what does it look like I’m doing?  I’m buying delicious red tomatoes!  Well, it turns out the store doesn’t open until tomorrow… which means I’ll just get to experience the excitement of exploring new grounds all over again!  Having a grocery store so close it going to be great – no more driving all the way to St. Cloud to get spinach after finding that the locally owned Loso’s Grocery doesn’t carry it the first 3 weeks of every month (what?!) or doesn’t carry my favorite oyster crackers for making ranch oyster crackers.

Don’t get me wrong, I am all about supporting local business; but as a poor college student, I have to do what is economically right for my savings account.  Why spend 1.50 for a tomato when I can get 4 for the same price?  Maybe someday when I am not a poor college student (which is approaching fast) I will swing in that locally owned shop and buy the over priced produce.  Some may argue that I should still shop there because the money I save will be spent at Sal’s or the La.  But let’s not forget, they are local business, too.

Carrot Cake

Why do I like cooking and baking so much?  Especially during the times I should be reading and studying rather than mixing and sautéing…  PROCRASTINATION.  It takes hold of everyone from time to time.  I did it myself.  Instead of doing my readings for class tomorrow, I decided I needed to do laundry.  And grill chicken.  And then make a chicken salad…. but now I need dessert?  The answer: carrot cake.  This isn’t any ordinary carrot cake, but the most amazing, spongy, delicious, melt in your mouth carrot cake.  I don’t plan on eating much of it, but sharing it (thats what roommates are for right?).  This is partially why:

Monique’s Deliciously Dark Carrot Cake

  • 35 minutes at 350 degrees
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1 c. brown sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 c. canola oil
  • 2 c. flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 tsp. soda
  • splash of vanilla
  • 3 carrots (which is the equivalent of one large carrot (see picture below).  If your grocer doesn’t supply this size of carrot, don’t worry – mine doesn’t either.  It was grown up in the fertile plains of Northern MN at the Utz family garden!)

And if that wasn’t enough of a size comparison, how about to the size of my head?

And the delicious frosting…

  • 8 oz reduced fat cream cheese
  • 4 tbls. butter
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 c. powdered sugar

Yoga

Wow, our instructor was not kidding about raising us to another level tonight!  Since it is core power yoga, we really focused in on our core tonight and boy, my abs and back muscles are sore!  We also did one too many chataranga push ups for my liking!  But most of all, we got to try a few new difficult positions!  More on that once I improve!  And for my post yoga workout:

A tasty Green Monster smoothie!  Spinach, oats, frozen mangos, bananas and peaches, a splash of fat free vanilla coffee creamer, a bit of water, and ice, all blended together into smoothie perfection!

3 thoughts on “Carrots

  1. WHOA! That is one massive carrot and how good does that cake look? YUM! That is hilarious about the grocery store. I would’ve asked if I could just check out and be the official first customer 😉 You are one gorgeous lady! Thanks for commenting on my bloggy

  2. It is very rare that I burst out loud reading something online, but your tomato story had me cracking up. I also chalked the Guinness Book of Records carrot up to PhotoShop wizardry, until I saw the second photo. Great post!

Leave a Reply

