Part-time vacationer

After waking up bright and early from under Linsey’s desk (it’s where I sleep, actually quite comfortable… pictures to come), I started my nursing slave duties (I work for free) by driving her to the clinic for blood labs.  Her INR level is now at 2.7!  All of those vitamin K packed green monsters have paid off and her blood is back to normal (thanks Iowa Girl for introducing them to me!).

After I dropped Linsey off at her 9 am class, I ran to Ikea and picked up a much needed salad spinner ($3.99, pretty much a steal) and then to Trader Joe’s to pick up ingredients for tonight’s dinner: cilantro, lime black bean quesadillas and roasted brussels sprouts.  After I got back, I sliced open a grapefruit I’d bought at Whole Foods the other day and seeped my favorite pomegranate  green tea.

Unfortunately, my freedom was cut short when Linsey texted me saying she wasn’t going to go to the rest of her classes because she was tired and I had to go pick her lazy butt up at 1:45.  It’s like she just had multiple pulmonary embolisms and had to have two major aggressive surgeries to save her life or something.  Geez.  As soon as we got home, she immediately ordered me to make her another green monster smoothie.  Not wanting “the boss” (mom) to find out I wasn’t obeying, I obliged and made one with the strawberries I was going to eat for breakfast tomorrow.

During the afternoon I worked on updated my resume, and working on some design work for a restaurant/catering company in Dublin called KC Peaches.  And then it happened.  The dreaded Blue.  Screen.  Of.  Death.  I lost everything I was multitasking on, which probably wasn’t smart to begin with because my computer can’t handle running two programs at once… someday friends, I will own this:

Macbook Pro =)  Or possibly after Apple’s Wednesday announcement, the iTablet/iSlate/iWhateveryouwanttocallit!  Somehow, I will find a way… but that way is not right now because I am my sister’s unpaid assisant.  For now, restart still works on my Dell.

The black bean quesadillas for dinner came together very quickly.  I had made these back at school between classes and are easy and delicious!

Black Bean Quesadillas

  • Tortillas
  • 1 Can Black Beans drained and rinsed (we used T.J.’s Cuban Style)
  • Monterey Jack Cheese (block or shredded)
  • 1/2 Lime – juiced
  • Cilantro (chopped… measurement is up to your discretion – I love cilantro so I use a lot!)
  • Optional: Chicken, tomatoes, onions, peppers, etc.
  • Required: Mild Tabasco sauce (the green kind)

Mmm!  Look at that cheese just drooping out!

Linsey even got the energy to make dessert!  She scooped out some raspberry sorbet out of a container and put it in a bowl.  Then, she handed me a Ghirardelli dark chocolate square to break up and sprinkle myself.

The weather isn’t looking promising for tomorrow, 55 and rainy.  Again.  But at least I am not here:

The Red River Valley in the dead of winter.  AKA, home.

One thought on “Part-time vacationer

  1. Pingback: Olympic appetite « The River Runs Deep

Leave a Reply

