Cookin' Up Some Love

Between waking up to a chilly day, Linsey stepping on and breaking my glasses, spilling my entire new bottle of vanilla extract on myself and my favorite Penn sweatshirt, and dropping half a salad on the floor,  I got to wondering – where is the love today?

I found it in the kitchen…  where I baked up the Valentine’s day cookie storm  to bring to Sun Valley some special guys (my Valentine Matt + his friends).  I got the recipe from my mom yesterday and decided to whip them up today.

Here is the family recipe for delicious holiday cookies.  Eating them frozen is highly recommended!

Mix the following with a pie crust blender:

  • 3 c. flour
  • 1 c. butter
  • 1.5 tsp soda
  • 1.5 tsp cream of tartar

Separately mix the following in another bowl:

  • 1 c. sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbls milk

Add the wet ingredients to the semi-dry and mix with a fork… it will be sticky.  Cover with saran wrap and put in the fridge for an hour.  Break the dough up into manageable portions.

Put a cloth cover on your rolling pin, flour, and then flour and pastry cloth for rolling on (or grease your counter and add lots of flour or your cookies will stick!).  Roll out to 1/8 inch thick, use your favorite cookie cutter shape and bake at 350 degrees for 5-6 minutes.

Cool, frost, freeze, eat.  Or eat them not frozen.  Your call!

And if you’re like me, sneaking a little scrap piece every once in awhile is ok!

The whole process took up my whole afternoon.  Better to do it today when it was chilly out than tomorrow when it’s supposed to be sunny and in the 60s (… Californians may think I’m crazy, but.. pool time!).

On the agenda: run, pack, sun =)

Leave a Reply

