Detox

There are many meanings to the word “detox.”   It’s what you can do after a long weekend of over-indulgence, the actual place when you’ve had too much to drink, or it’s the place where you did all of your drinking =).  For everyone who doesn’t know, I live in a semi-crappy little white and red house called Detox.  You may think that is crazy, but other houses in my neighborhood  include the Icehouse, Margaritaville, the Boobery, the Box and the Morgue; all home to senior Bennie’s and Johnnies.

Detox (my house) hosted T.A.M.S.A.K. (tenth annual mandatory senior appreciation (of) keggers) on Saturday night.  Our theme was inspired by the real Detox, and we had everyone pose for a mug shot =).  Here is mine… grandma, if you’re reading this, I really do stop at buzzed.  For everyone else, “stop @ buzzed” is a social campaign on campus… good thing I can spell at this point:

All in all, a successful TAMSAK.  It is nice to get ours out of the way – now we can just enjoy going to all of the other TAMSAK locations =) and not worry about our house getting destroyed!  Actually, the only thing that did get destroyed was a lamp, but since our roommate broke it nobody is that upset.

Here are a few other random mug shots of friends, out of over a hundred we took:

Washing the mud off our floors was put off until today.  After my workout, I came back and got down on my hands and knees and scrubbed the kitchen floor.  It was pretty nasty – mixture of beer, dirt and lemon scented soap.  I went through +20 soapy water changes.  But it needed to be done and now it’ll probably stay clean the rest of the semester… I hope =).

One of my goals for the rest of the semester is to NOT go to the grocery store.  We only have a few weeks left and I have tons of frozen and dry foods that need to get eaten up!  Obviously I can’t live without a fresh salad, so I’m going to go ahead and say buying romaine/ spinach and tomatoes is ok.  I also need to eat through all of my fresh produce before Wednesday because I’m going home for Easter Break… so here is tonight’s mash-up:

Indian spiced Kale with Apples and Onions

Just check out that steam!  It was sooo good and I’ve finally gotten a chance to use my giant bag of garam masala that Erin and Lou, the Collegeville Kids, gave me for Christmas!  =)  Here is what’s in the mix for my single serving:

  • half an onion, large chop
  • half an apple (save the other half for dessert!), medium thickness sliced
  • Kale
  • 3/4 c. chicken broth or water
  • 1 giant clove garlic, minced
  • > 1 tsp. cumin
  • > 1 tsp. curry powder
  • 2 tsp. garam masala
  • splash of olive oil
  • S & P to taste

All I did was sautee the onions in the olive oil for about 6 minutes, then I added the garlic for another minute.  I then added the chicken broth, spices and the kale and covered for another 6-8 minutes.  I then added the apples and sauteed for another 2 minutes, because you don’t want to over cook them – they will get soggy.  If it gets too dry, you can always add a splash or two of water.  That’s it!  Tasty Indian in 20 minutes!

5 thoughts on “Detox

    • Seriously, email me the next time you’re in the Minny and we’ll have a meet up!! By the way, has Molly filled you in our ‘meet’ story? It’s good, and really funny. =)

  1. WOw, you guys were so creative with your T.A.M.S.A.K.! Love it!!! Looks like it was a blast, and I’m sad that I didn’t come back as a super senior (ahhem RG) hahaha.

    • Hah you’re here in spirit! I haven’t been to a Tamsak since ours =S trying to get over a nasty cold by watching seasons of HIMYM =)

Leave a Reply

